Mafia Summit

J. Edgar Hoover, the Kennedy Brothers, And the Meeting That Unmasked the Mob Paperback

Buy
Add Mafia Summit to Goodreads

Mafia Summit is the true story of how a small-town lawman in upstate New York busted an infamous organized crime meeting in Apalachin, NY on Novemeber 14, 1957, exposing the reality of the mob to America

In a small village in upstate New York, mob bosses from all over the country—Vito Genovese, Carlo Gambino, Joe Bonanno, Joe Profaci, Cuba boss Santo Trafficante, and future Gambino boss Paul Castellano—were nabbed by Sergeant Edgar D. Croswell as they gathered to sort out a bloody war of succession.

For years, FBI director J. Edgar Hoover had adamantly denied the existence of the Mafia, but young Robert Kennedy immediately recognized the shattering importance of the Appalachian summit. As attorney general when his brother JFK became president, Bobby embarked on a campaign to break the spine of the mob, engaging in a furious turf battle with the powerful Hoover.

Detailing mob killings, the early days of the heroin trade, and the crusade to loosen the hold of organized crime, fans of Gus Russo and Luc Sante will find themselves captured by this momentous story. Reavill scintillatingly recounts the beginning of the end for the Mafia in America and how it began with a good man in the right place at the right time.

Praise

Praise for Gil Reavill’s Mafia Summit: Hoover, the Kennedy Brothers and the Meeting That Unmasked the Mob

“The infamous Apalachin gangster conclave of 1957 is best remembered for the images of hoods in $1,000 suits scrambling through the muddy upstate New York woods after the cops closed in. Gil Reavill’s Mafia Summit at last fleshes out the story to give us the gang wars that led up to the gathering and the law enforcement turf battles that followed it. Here is gangland history that is compelling, thoughtful and well grounded in scrupulous research. With a lively cast of characters that includes ruthlessly ambitious bosses such as Vito Genovese and ambitiously ruthless politicians such as Bobby Kennedy, Mafia Summit is a set-the-story-straight page-turner.” — Gus Russo, author of The Outfit and Supermob.

“A dramatic investigation into one of the most notorious Mafia gatherings, shining a spotlight on the mob-with much fresh material.” — Tim Newark, author of Boardwalk Gangster and Mafia Allies

“Gil Reavill's Mafia Summit is the best, and best-written, true-crime story I've ever read.  It's as suspenseful, detailed, racy and knowing as a novel by Hammett or Chandler.  At its heart is a bona fide American hero, Sgt. Edgar Croswell.  Sgt. Croswell's tireless investigation of the mobster bosses who met at the tiny upstate New York hamlet of Apalachin provides a unique window into the "turning point in American law enforcement's battle against organized crime."  Mafia Summit is a terrific read about one very good policeman's courageous fight to put many very bad criminals exactly where they needed to be – behind bars.” — Howard Frank Mosher, author of Walking to Gatlinburg

“An exciting, comprehensive chronicle of one of the most pivotal events in mob history.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A close investigation into the crime bosses' upstate New York summit and its grisly aftermath, Reavill's book accurately recreates one of the golden eras of American organized crime.” —Publishers Weekly

“A fun, interesting and important slice of Americana.”— Seattle Mystery Bookshop (On Goodreads, five star rating)

Excerpt

Prologue:  McFall Road, Apalachin

Out of all the vehicles parked alongside McFall Road in the tiny New York hamlet of Apalachin, the Chrysler Crown Imperial limousine stood out. Not just a car, but a statement of wealth and prestige, expressed in an ornate chrome grill and a set of sweeping tail fins. A fat, shiny, outlandish vehicle, a perfect signifier for 1950s America.

Midday on a foggy, rainy Thursday, November 14, 1957. Through his field glasses from thirty yards away, Sergeant Edgar Croswell of the New York State Police surveilled not only the big Imperial, but also a dozen similar late-model land boats around it, as well as the hilltop estate where they were parked.

Sergeant Croswell always had a sharp eye for cars. When his youngest son Bob was a child, Croswell taught him to recognize automobiles as a kind of parlor trick, a six year old able to nail the difference between a Ford Custom, say, and a Galaxie, rattling off the make, model and year like a savant.

Back in the 1920s, Walter Chrysler founded the Imperial line to compete with GM’s Cadillac and Ford’s Lincoln. Though it never quite measured up, selling only a single car for every ten Cadillacs, the model had its adherents. In later days, the Imperial found itself banned from demolition derbies, its X-frame construction so solid that it was virtually unbeatable.

The 44-year-old Croswell drove a Buick himself, but the Imperial sparked his interest. The current-year’s model, brand spanking new. The big sedan took its place among a whole fleet of Caddies and Continentals and Lincoln Premieres, parked in the spacious driveway lot in front of a four-bay garage, left alongside the road or pulled into a field next to a rustic fieldstone ranch house.

With Croswell that day were his state police partner, Trooper Vincent R. Vasisko, and a pair of revenue agents from Treasury’s Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Unit, Art Ruston and Ken Brown.

Croswell turned to his cohorts and ticked off the state plates visible from his post.

“New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, New York, Ohio, Illinois,” he said. Some of the license plates, he noticed, had special low numbers, usually indicating owners of influence.

“Those aren’t salesmen cars,” Vasisko said.

“No,” Croswell said. “Let’s get the numbers down as fast was we can.”

The lawmen moved forward, taking plate numbers. Lots of cars, but no people. The driveway, yards and fields around the compound appeared curiously devoid of life. Where was everybody?

The big fieldstone house on McFall Road—really a collection of buildings, a compound of sorts, with a main residence, a summer pavilion, a garage and outbuildings—belonged to Joseph Barbara, Sr., who presented himself to the world as an upstanding citizen, the area distributor for the lucrative Canada Dry line of beverage products.

But Joseph Barbara defined the old police term “hinky.” Croswell knew Barbara been buying up sugar, massive amounts, really, 30,000 pounds a month for the past year. That much sugar meant illegal stills. Counter-intuitive as it was, moonshining had not ended with Prohibition. By avoiding excise taxes, illicit alcohol production could prove enormously lucrative, not as golden as it had been during Volstead, but even so a steady earner.

Unsure exactly what was going on at the McFall Road estate, but thinking it might have something to do with moonshining, Croswell called in the revenuers.

Sergeant Croswell served as a senior investigator with the BCI, the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, which was the State Police equivalent of a detective bureau. Over a decade previous, during World War II, upon his first encounter with Joe Barbara, Croswell opened a mental file on the man, the informal kind of data-set all lawmen keep continually up to date, on hinkiness of whatever kind that crops up within their territory.

Every once in a while, at least a couple times a month, Croswell would drive up to Barbara’s impressive Apalachin compound, ten miles west of Binghamton. His personally motivated ten-year surveillance campaign, wholly unmandated by his superiors in the State Police, had come to this, a single cruiser parked at the property line of the Barbara estate, near a driveway parked thick with expensive limousines that, by all rights of logic and cop intuition, should not have been anywhere near backwoods Southern Tier New York.

The squadron of big cars, bespeaking power and privilege, ranged against the single unmarked police car with its force of four. Croswell started to feel a little lonely up there on top of the hill. He made an executive decision, got on his radio and put the word out to his fellow state police.

Black-and-whites began pulling out of barracks in Binghamton and the neighboring towns of Waverly and Horseheads, cutting off the approaches to Apalachin. In all, seventeen additional troopers answered the call, men Croswell had worked with often before, their names readily familiar to him: Lt. Kenneth Weidenborner, Sgt. Joseph Beneneti, Trooper Joseph D. Smith, Trooper Richard C. Geer, Trooper Howard Teneyck.

The state police threw a net around the Barbara estate, cutting off not only McFall Road but also East River Road to the north, McFadden Road to the west, Pennsylvania Avenue to the east and Rhodes Road to the south. Whoever or whatever was there at Barbara’s estate—moonshiners, or something more sinister—was boxed in, with cops blocking any and all possible exit ways from the area.

Croswell hoped he was right in alerting the troops. All he had to go on was Barbara’s extensive arrest record, the strangely out-of-place collection of big cars and a few other indications that some sort of illicit gathering was going down on McFall Road.

A fish truck emerged from the Barbara place and rattled up the road. The quartet of lawmen let it pass. The driver, local merchant Bartolo Guccia, had just delivered an order of three pounds of porgies and a pound of mackerel to the kitchen of the big stone house. Guccia, a sallow little man with an old-world Italian accent, proceeded past the cops, but then pulled up and came back. He waved jauntily at Croswell and Vasisko and returned to the Barbara compound.

Almost at the same moment, a crew of a dozen men in sharp suits (“fourteen-karat hoodlums,” Croswell mentally tagged them, “like a collection of George Rafts”), rounded the corner of the screened-in summer pavilion on the Barbara estate. As though they were cartoon characters, the men stopped comically short upon seeing the staties taking down plates fifty feet away.

Cops and quarry eyed each other, the same thought occurring to both groups. Who were these guys?

Through the binoculars, Croswell noted the heavy gold watches on almost every man’s wrist. He could pick out their diamond jewelry, rings, stick pins and studs, sparkling in the washed-out light of the autumn noon.

Guccia reached the compound garage. Croswell heard words being exchanged but could not make out what was being said.

“Roadblock,” was what the fishmonger said to the mob boys. “State police! They’re stopping everybody!”

The gangsters scattered.

Croswell watched the rout through his binoculars. “They’re running,” he told Vasisko. But his partner could see that for himself.

Figures poured out of the house, climbing into the cars or fleeing on foot across the fields, heading toward the surrounding woods. The sergeant tracked them, keeping his eyes glued to his field glasses, swiveling from the grounds to the forests and back to the property.

“This is going to be a bad day for a whole lot of people,” Croswell murmured, utilizing his usual dry-as-dust understatement to characterize what would prove to be a turning point in the long and tortured history of American law enforcement’s battle against organized crime.

13 Under the Wire

International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill returns with another riveting crime novel featuring detective Layla Remington—perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Nevada Barr. As 13 Under the Wire… More

13 Stolen Girls

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly or Nevada Barr, this gripping Layla Remington thriller from International Thriller Writers Award finalist Gil Reavill plunges readers beneath the glittering façade of Hollywood… More